Google
WWW CareCure Forums

Go Back   CareCure Forums > SCI Community Forums > Computers

Computers Hardware, software, internet, and related subjects

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 12-19-2003, 07:58 AM   #1
joyt
Senior Member
 
joyt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: Atlanta, GA USA
Posts: 582
boomspeed fees?

my *FREE* web hoster, boomspeed, wants my credit card number and a $2.99 "age verification" fee.

has anyone gotten similar emails?

Quote:
All Credit Card charges are processed & verified MANUALLY.
Thus, if your card does not go through, your account will not be created nor upgraded.
** This is a safe and secure page as noted by the at the bottom of your browser window. **

** Also NOTE: This IS a legitimate site which you can verify by the https://secure.boomspeed.com/ URL **
** which is a secure server owned and operated by Boomspeed.Com . Check our Support Forums for additional verification. **
** Please click on the Thawte Logo for verification **

Boomspeed User ID:
Email Address:
First & Last Name:
Street Address:
City: State or Province
Zip or Postal Code: Country:
Phone/Fax:
Card Type Visa Mastercard AMEX Discover/Novus
Card Number Expiration (MMYY example 0104)
Where did you hear about BoomSpeed.Com ?


In order to keep Boomspeed safe we are requiring all members to provide proof of age with a valid credit or debit card. Our Terms of Service agreement clearly states that all members must be 18 years of age or older. [B]The age verification fee is only $2.99. [B]

Your phone number is optional. BoomSpeed will never sell, rent or loan your private information to advertisers,
as we respect your privacy. Our Privacy policy can be read right HERE
thanks-----------

joy
"Now the only healthy way to live, as I see it, is to learn to like all the little every day things."
~ Gus McCrae
joyt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-19-2003, 04:51 PM   #2
jimnms
Senior Member
 
jimnms's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Mississippi
Posts: 2,673
Send a message via Yahoo to jimnms
You should contact boomspeed first. This sounds like a scam. Do you use IE? IE has a security flaw that allows url's to be spoofed. I use Mozilla, and when I went to the URL you posted, I got a blank page.

_____
Learn from the mistakes of others, you won't live long enough to make all of them yourself.
jimnms is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-19-2003, 05:54 PM   #3
scott7065
Member
 
scott7065's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: NJ
Posts: 93
If you go to thier homepage http://boomspeed.com/
they describe what you are talking about. It seems genuine but I don't know anything about boomspeed as a company.

Also, if you go to https://secure.boomspeed.com/secure/.../ageverify.htm
they mention the age verification fee is anual and
"At the end of the free trial period which expires 12/23/2003 my Boomspeed account will be upgraded to a Premium 100 meg account at the rate of $18 per quarter (avg of $6/month)."

It doesn't seem like your *FREE* web hoster is free anymore. You might want to find yourself a new *FREE* web hoster, or if you are interested in paying, http://www.8-95.com/ has been reliable for me and have some good deals.


-Scott
scott7065 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-19-2003, 06:46 PM   #4
PN
Moderator
 
PN's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: Witness Protection Program
Posts: 4,363
Joy,

If I received an e-mail like this, I would be suspicious and I would want to talk with billing over the phone. "Email spoofing is often an attempt to trick the user into making a damaging statement or releasing sensitive information (such as credit cards)."

Also, Scott may very well be correct when he writes "It doesn't seem like your *FREE* web hoster is free anymore."

PN

[This message was edited by PN on 12-19-03 at 09:11 PM.]
PN is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-19-2003, 10:31 PM   #5
Scott Pruett
Senior Member
 
Scott Pruett's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: NC Triad
Posts: 6,997
plain & simple, don't trust it. never send your credit card # via email or a non-secure site.

switch companies. a lot of great web hosts are so darn cheap these days anyway.

______________
Remember yesterday... Live today... Dream about tomorrow...
Scott Pruett is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-19-2003, 10:34 PM   #6
Scott Pruett
Senior Member
 
Scott Pruett's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: NC Triad
Posts: 6,997
p.s. check the mail headers & see where the reply-to: address points. Is it a boomspeed.com domain?

oh wait... maybe i'm not reading this right... they want you to go onto their site to submit this info?

______________
Remember yesterday... Live today... Dream about tomorrow...
Scott Pruett is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-20-2003, 10:46 AM   #7
scott7065
Member
 
scott7065's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: NJ
Posts: 93
They are useing a secure site (https://) and the SSL Server Certificate belongs to boomspeed.com and is issued by "Thawte Server CA".


-Scott
scott7065 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 12:49 AM.



"CC Wiki" powered by VaultWiki v2.5.0.
Copyright © 2008 - 2009, Cracked Egg Studios.