Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: Independent Living For Quads

Independent Living For Quads

Hi all,
    Im a functional C6 quad from Singapore. Im quite new to this SCI thing, left rehab only in May 07. Thank God for care cure which helped me answer so many questions bout life after SCI. Im still strugglin with all the negative shit that comes with this injury, but what im most concern about is being independent again ( to the extent of which my injury would allow )

To what extent can a C6 quad be independent?
    1) bowel n bladder care (emptying own urine bag)
    2) lower body dressing
    3) bathing
    4) driving

any tips n/or experiences would be greatly appreciated

a functional c6 can be independent in every category you mentioned. the questions are how much time/energy do you want to spend on dressing and bowel care? the rest are easy.

Ya, it's your body so you should know what you are capable of doing.

Most of my C6 male clients are independent in self intermittent catheterization. Have you considered this instead of using an indwelling catheter?

If you want to stay with an indwelling catheter or reflex voiding, then get a leg bag that has a flip down type emptying valve. This is easiest to control with the side of your hand. If you use a power chair you could also consider an electronic leg bag emptier.

It is easiest to do bowel care with the correct adaptive equipment (suppository inserter and digital stimulator) and a raised toilet seat or roll-over commode to let you have access while seated. Do you have access to this equipment?

Do you have a roll-in shower? How do you get into the bath? Once there, with equipment again (long handled bath sponge with quad grip, soap-on-a-rope, bathing mitt) you should be able to do this as well. If you don't have a good set up, you will probably need help with the transfers for it to be safe, esp. when you are damp.