Page 1 of 4 1234 LastLast

Thread: Tempurpedic or the cheaper bragada?

Tempurpedic or the cheaper bragada?

I'm looking to purchase a good bed, probably a tempurpedic, but I come across this bed that says there similar.
    Bragada beds advertise as being made from the same material as the tempurpedic, at a large saving...is this bu** sh** or a comparable bed? Anyone here have any advice?

Your profile does not indicate, so what is your level of injury? What are your transfer skills like? What is the primary prupose of getting an upgraded mattress - Skin integrity vs comfort?

Sorry about the deluge of questions, but I recommend different mattresses for different purposes. I am an outpatient Occupational therapist working primarily with people with spinal cord injuries. I treat one throughout a continuum from new injury to longterm and long-long term- so the answers to my questions can help me formulate an opinion as to what would work best for you.

Generally speaking the tempurpedic mattress works well for pressure reliefs but can be very difficult to transfer out of. It is a type of memory foam so the imprint you leave while sleeping on it doesn't "rebound" immediately. When transferring out of it, you must lift yourself out of that imprint as well. It is difficult to "slide" across. Many of my patients who could manage most transfers independently suddenly required assistance when they got this bed. It is very difficult to "reposition" yourself because of the very same reasons. I have heard mixed remarks on the comfort. It does have a tendency to betoo warm too sleep on.