Thread: Choosing my next vehicle (minivan versus four-wheel-drive)

Choosing my next vehicle (minivan versus four-wheel-drive)

Hi,
    first off I will give you the background information. I'm a 26-year-old college student living in Israel. I'm also a C4/5 quadriplegic. I was injured seven years ago and only now am I finishing getting my license. I had a license before I was injured however I never got around to getting one again after I was injured.

I currently own a 2001 Chrysler Town & Country. It is outfitted with a ramp at the side door and removable front seats (one is always removed so that I stay on my wheelchair). If I drive, I place a seat on the passenger side, and if I am not driving then the seat goes in the driver's position.

I will probably get my license and about two weeks. Chances are that I will order a new vehicle within half a year. Because I'm an Army veteran I get funding every several years for a vehicle.

I've always liked the outdoors but because of my condition I couldn't go by foot (naturally) and because of my car going off-road was not an option. In addition, I would just love to have a car that is more 'fitting' for my age. I kind of field old in the minivan.

The problem is, the minivan is just so comfortable. It has a huge amount of storage room, and of course, I can choose whether I'm in the passenger side or the driver's side without a problem.

Are there any four-wheel drives vehicles (a.k.a. Hummer and the like) that can be outfitted with ramps on both sides so that I can choose whether or not I would like to be the driver of the passenger (think about a night out, with lots of drinks)?

In other words, what would you do in my condition?

Looking forward to hearing the replies,
    Eitan Waks