Thread: Medical and Rehab Care

Post Medical and Rehab Care

OK, here goes. I'm new to this so bear with me. I am a caregiver for my wife, a 52 yr old female T-3 paraplegic from an auto accident 9 years ago. We are having difficulty locating a good rehab physician in the Charleston, WV (or proximity) area. Any suggestions out there?

In addition my wife has not been seen by a neurosurgeon since her release from rehab in 1998 and she has made remarkable progress, to the point of her injury being reclassified by her former Physiatrist from "complete" to "incomplete". I was wondering if we should attempt to seek an opinion about her current condition from a neurosurgeon? A complicating factor is that we have no confidence in the neurosurgeon that treated her at the time of her injury and in addition aren't aware of other neurosurgeons in the Tri-State area (WV, OHIO, KY). Any suggestions would be appreciated.

For what purpose would you want her to see a neurosurgeon? Do you question the stability of her spinal fractures? Think she has a syrinx (have you had symptoms)? Seen any symptoms of cord or root compression? It is rare that there is any need to see a neurosurgeon on a regular basis or even at all after the initial treatment.

As far as finding a physiatrist, this may be difficult in a state like WV where there is so little rehab practiced. You may need to look into going out of state (such as the VA or OH). Here is a site where you can find a listing of practicing physiatrists by state:

http://www.e-aapmr.org/imis/imisonli...dphys/find.cfm

(KLD)