Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Racing wheels on everyday chair

Question Racing wheels on everyday chair

I was wondering if anyone has first or secondhand experience of adding a push rim to a wheelchair racing wheel (e.g., carbon fiber HED) for everday use. I'm already using 26" wheels (650c) so that's not an issue for me.

I've seen a few people do it, but after 17 years and being T-2 I'll stick with the regular. Seems to me it would not be beneficial for everyday use......but I've been wrong before........

I like the open look and convenience of X-Core wheels but not their weight. I have no experience with HED racing wheels but they're true carbon fiber wheels and, judging from the price and their professional application, I'm guessing they're much higher quality than X-Cores.

I was wondering how they compare in weight to, say, Spinergy LXs and if they can be customized with standard size hand rims.

Are there any racing experts here than can tackle this question?

Wow...honestly....
    I would use those rims on my standard everyday chair unless I had $$$$ to burn.

I use Spinergy as my everday rim and just luv them.
    But HED racing wheels while extremely lite are very stiff and may not hold up to everyday pounding.

I use ZIPPS on my racing HC and would never think about using those as everyday.

Quote Originally Posted by Cappy
    But HED racing wheels while extremely lite are very stiff and may not hold up to everyday pounding.
    Why wouldn't a carbon fiber wheel hold up to everyday pounding? I imagine that they would be more durable, not less. And what for you is "everyday pounding?" Aren't these wheels used in Tour De France-type racing?

I guess it depends on how ya use them.
    Are you banging into things?
    Do ya take ur wheels off when you transport ur chair in a vehicle?
    Are they in a place to chip the CF?
    Constant chipping will lead to a weak point and potential cracking.
    Once cracked...wheel is wasted. IMHO