Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: has anyone here ever built a beach wheelchair?

has anyone here ever built a beach wheelchair?

hi,
    i am a newbie here. i found this forum and i am very happy to join you guys!

i found this forum by accident as i was researching beach wheelchairs. we generally go to one campground at myrtle beach soley because they have a beach wc that they allow campers to use free of charge. it is just a plain and simple chair made out of pvc piping with big balloon wheels. we live about 5 hours from the beach so i am hesitant to put the 1000-3000 into a manufactured beach chair as we only go once or twice a year. but lets face it, a trip to the beach with your family is not much fun if they can go down the beach and you cant. this campground we usually use is not our favorite but they have the chair. so we decided why dont we just build our own! the construction is simple enough but the cost of the wheels and casters is the biggie. looks like about 400. for those alone and i know there has to be some cheaper way. one chair i looked at looks exactly like the manufacturer took a lounge chair and put balloon wheels on it! of course this would have to be a push chair and that means i have to be pushed around, which i hate, but it beats missing out on the beach altogether. so my question is, has anyone here ever attempted to build your own beach chair? any ideas for cheaper wheels and casters? i have searched for hours on end and have been unable to find them cheaper. the construction of the chair will be a breeze for my hubby...he recently built a set of monkey bars out of pvc for my service animal..oliver lee monkey! any ideas would be terrific!!!!