Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: SSI and 1099 employment

SSI and 1099 employment

What mess would this mean? And would a ticket to work help?
    "I want to make a difference! However small it may be~ as long as it's a positive one, then this is what my life will have been about and I will go knowing I did my best.~ T.

My son graduated this fall with his mechanics diploma and has since been offered a good job with great opportunity and potential in the field of his dreams. The employer has since the initial interview prior 2008, changed from hourly/salary taxed paycheck to employees to a 1099 at the end of the year, each employee as an independent contractor I believe their status or title to be within the area of each position/job duties.

Anyhow, what exactly does this mean? And what of an income as such w/ ssi- is it first 80/85 off net or gross, and what of the end of year taxable income, etc. etc.

Also, the v/r advised him to use ticket to work prior the 1099 decision when he had mentioned his finding this job...

I am extremely proud of my son. And admire his determination to both continue where his injury and the system sidetracked him for years to succeed with a job offer he can go places with as he learns. He knows he wil have to lose to gain in the end but what is the best route for him to go with employment and ssi? We've made so many mistakes getting to this point, costing an already low income mom here pplus loans as well as his student loans then later learning out of state student funding would've been better, easier- blah, blah, blah.

I'd really appreciate your advice/thoughts, T.
    "I want to make a difference! However small it may be~ as long as it's a positive one, then this is what my life will have been about and I will go knowing I did my best.~ T.

Congrats with the job offer. I don't post here much but am always watching.