Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 17

Thread: HDMI cables?

  1. #1

    HDMI cables?

    Does anyone know why the price in these things fluctuates so drastically? You can get a 3ft Monster (brand) cable for like $75 at Best Buy or a 3ft OEM cable for $7 on-line.

    Is it possible that the quality of the cable can be THAT different at the consumer electronics level? I find it hard to believe.

    I'm tempted to buy both and do a comparison but I'd rather just hear someone who knows what they're talking about say that with the more expensive cables, you're just paying for the name...

    Thoughts?

    *************************************************************
    *** c4/c5 incomplete *** Injured in Summer 2003 ***
    *************************************************************

  2. #2

  3. #3
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    May 2004
    Location
    Ottawa, Cdn.....eh
    Posts
    3,268
    Yha thee is a difference..,. It's like a yugo vs a rabbit

  4. #4
    Senior Member JustinB's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2005
    Location
    Somewhere - Out there
    Posts
    467
    More like Ford vs Mercury. One has better packaging.
    http://www.monoprice.com/products/pr...seq=1&format=2

    I bought several cables from monoprice, all work fantastic.

    Including a 15ft DVI - HDMI for connecting my macbook pro to my TV. Works like a champ. $25.00

    -- JB

  5. #5
    The difference only matters in terms of signal degradation/artefacting over a longer runs (say > 10 ft). For a short cable, it shouldn't matter much.
    Daniel

  6. #6
    Just make sure it is HDMI version 1.3a.

  7. #7
    Thanks all! Very helpful.

    *************************************************************
    *** c4/c5 incomplete *** Injured in Summer 2003 ***
    *************************************************************

  8. #8
    Suspended Andy's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2003
    Location
    Chicago IL
    Posts
    9,722
    monoprice.com FTW!

  9. #9
    Senior Member MikeC's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2003
    Location
    Tampa, FL
    Posts
    1,228
    A related question. Has anyone used an HDMI hub for plugging in more than 2 (that's how many inputs my TV has) devices? Right now our playstation is plugged in not using HDMI because the cable and DVD have HDMI cables.

    Thanks,
    Mike
    T12 Incomplete - Walking with Crutches, Injured in Oct 2003

  10. #10
    http://www.cablestogo.com/index.asp? has quality cables and not too overpriced... www.provantage.com actually sells their cables for around half. i have a coaxial for sound hdmi to hdmi and hdmi to dvi from them and they're trully awesome thick quality cables. highly recommend.

    Edit//. MikeC: Cablestogo has all that. check it out

Similar Threads

  1. Replies: 9
    Last Post: 02-22-2006, 11:52 AM
  2. Plasma T.V. questions
    By nick in forum Life
    Replies: 57
    Last Post: 02-01-2006, 02:03 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •