Page 6 of 10 FirstFirst 12345678910 LastLast
Results 51 to 60 of 94

Thread: iMac vs. PC?

  1. #51
    Senior Member smokey's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2001
    Location
    Massachusetts, USA
    Posts
    2,175
    OK, Transmission rate is 18. I was having problems with the iMac I returned before I downloaded BTT.
    Now 1 minute later transmission rate is 54.

  2. #52
    I believe a Transmit Rate of 18 or 54 is considered poor. I would call AppleCare and speak to a Product Specialist about your Transmit Rate. If I am right he will have you change channels. Also, your Transmit Rate is not stable. I would try to get this Intel iMac hardwired to the router.

    You're up and you're down results from SpeedTest, are good.
    The test of success is not what you do when you are on top. Success is how high you bounce when you hit the bottom
    --General George Patton

    Complex problems need to be solved collectively.
    ––Paul Nussbaum
    usc87.blogspot.com

  3. #53
    Senior Member smokey's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2001
    Location
    Massachusetts, USA
    Posts
    2,175
    Apple support guy says I might need an "N band router" instead of my 2 year old Cisco Linksys "G band router" because iMacs Airport wireless receivers can flip back and forth to receive a 2.4GHz and 5GHz signal but only if I have an "N band router" which transmit both signals. He said the "G band router" is only capable of transmitting a 2.4GHz signal. He also said my transmit rate was fine and it will vary throughout the day and night depending on ISP traffic. He also suggested I call Comcast....."because maybe too many people are online around here" (I lost confidence in this dude when he said that....it's preposterous). He said the probability that I get 2 defective iMacs in a week both exhibiting the same problems is off the charts. So basically he was pointing the finger at my router or my ISP...but not Apple. My neighbor who is an electrical engineer suggested I first unplug the router from my Dell in the next room, unplug the router from the power source to reset it and see if that corrects it. All this make any sense to any of you techno-geeks? I'm just a techno-nerd.

  4. #54
    Senior Member JustinB's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2005
    Location
    Somewhere - Out there
    Posts
    467
    Re: Transmit rate - For wireless G, 54 is the maximum.
    Even if it goes lower, as long as it stays above your internet connection, then it isn't the bottleneck, and you don't need to worry about it. What it won't do is vary on ISP traffic, but rather signal strength and 2.4GHz band utilization

    None of the above should cause you to need to force-quit, they are two totally separate issues that have nothing at all to do with each other. If your problems were connection related, your browser of choice would complain of connection problems, not just hang there forever.

    Apple support is right that having two iMacs exhibit the same issue that isn't seen by thousands of others (see 27" iMac screen or flash issues) is incredibly unlikely.
    I would point the finger at software that you've loaded.
    However, so far, it seems as though Macs aren't working for you. That isn't really a big deal. Take it back and get a PC. You experimented, and it didn't work out, and on behalf of all Mac Geeks, I apologize and would say that your experience is uncommon, but it happens.
    As a PC Geek, I say welcome back to the fold.
    As a Linux geek, I say have you considered open source? (Rather tongue in cheek in this case
    Good luck.

  5. #55
    Smokey: For almost 2 years I was using a Linksys wireless router 802.11g, with my Intel iMac. I am hardwired but I had a better Transmit Rate with the 802.11g, than I do with my Apple Time Capsule 802.11n. I don't think you need to get a new router with 802.11n, based on my experience. Your ISP is not the problem. What your neighbor is suggesting is worth trying. It will do no harm. If you can take a screenshot (take a picture of the entire screen, press Command-Shift-3) when these problems occur please post. I have read enough threads about third-party software totally messing up a Mac. The Apple mouse is not one of their finest products. I would still like to have this Intel iMac hardwired to the router to remove all doubt. If it still crashes, get a Windows machine.

    You could do no better. I am out of suggestions/ideas. Let the monkeys in suits throw darts.
    The test of success is not what you do when you are on top. Success is how high you bounce when you hit the bottom
    --General George Patton

    Complex problems need to be solved collectively.
    ––Paul Nussbaum
    usc87.blogspot.com

  6. #56
    Senior Member smokey's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2001
    Location
    Massachusetts, USA
    Posts
    2,175
    Justin B. and PN, Thanks for your helpful replies. Here's the plan; this morning I opened and re-entered information in the iMac wireless network preferences box. Everything has been good all day. Tonite I unplugged the Cisco Linksys G router from my Dell in the next room and also unplugged the router power cord from the wall socket for a minute so it could reset itself. Tomorrow I will push the Dell aside and run the router directly into the iMac and see how it goes. I can always enter 168.192.1.1 to reset the Linksys router to factory default settings. If any problems still occur I will simply plug the modem into the iMac and leave the router out of the equation. If a problem then occurs I will know that the iMac or the modem has the problem. I can easily get another modem from Comcast. Sound ok? Thanks again.

  7. #57
    I am okay with the plan. It is worth going the extra mile.

    Good luck.
    The test of success is not what you do when you are on top. Success is how high you bounce when you hit the bottom
    --General George Patton

    Complex problems need to be solved collectively.
    ––Paul Nussbaum
    usc87.blogspot.com

  8. #58
    Quote Originally Posted by stephen212 View Post
    Can anyone recommend a retailer that sells refurbished iMacs?

    http://www.powermax.com/

    Once you go Mac you won't go back
    Life's perceived journey in this PMR is not to arrive at the grave safely in a well preserved body, but rather to skid in sideways, totally worn out, shouting "holy **** what a VR ride!"
    Pete C6/'97

  9. #59
    Senior Member CapnGimp's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2004
    Location
    Alpine, TX USA male T4complete
    Posts
    3,470
    Blog Entries
    1
    Both 'browser' problems were MOST likely related to transmission/reception of your wireless setup or modem. When ya have no incoming, the 'idle' icons indicate it is 'working' but there is no reception. OFTEN this will cause a computer to SEEM like it is hanging/locking up.

    THEN you have 3rd party software CAUSE your mouse to 'fail'.

    Now this is how I see it happening to you, from your description. I seriously doubt hardware problems with those two computers. Hook that thing up with a cable...THEN see if you have problems.

    Now I know computers and their eccentricities and I will stand behind the Apple folks because they have a good thing going. I own a PC because it's cheaper and I don't RELY on microsoft products, THAT is where PC's bad name comes from. If you have a bad taste in yer mouth from using a PC, take that microsoft SHIT off of there and show yer buddy some LUV by loading Linux on it.

    I would recommend CONTINUING on the APPLE path unless you decide to become proficient in ms OSes and how to protect/defend and use them PROPERLY and WISELY. The ONLY way I would put someone on a windows machine is if they had wronged me in the past.

    PC is the way to go for PO Phoaks who are wise enough to use Linux.

    I CONTINUE to laugh my ass off at those who INSIST ya gotta have antivirus for Apple. You had too much microsoft titty as a small child....you will FAIL in the Grand Scheme of things.....
    Last edited by CapnGimp; 03-18-2010 at 12:01 AM. Reason: to add more drivel...

  10. #60
    Senior Member CapnGimp's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2004
    Location
    Alpine, TX USA male T4complete
    Posts
    3,470
    Blog Entries
    1
    Oh, btw, I have a G wireless here, my bro in law has an Airport set up and has 0 problems with it. If you can change frequencies, try all and take the BEST signal. RF is funny, things that block the signal/cause weak reception are not readily apparent even to those who KNOW rf and wireless computers/transmitters. A couple inches movement in any direction can be the difference in no signal or a perfect signal. It does NOT like glass/windows.

Similar Threads

  1. new power book
    By metronycguy in forum Computers
    Replies: 37
    Last Post: 02-15-2006, 12:46 PM
  2. Replies: 0
    Last Post: 10-29-2004, 09:06 AM
  3. Apple's New IMac Displays Minimalism
    By Max in forum Computers
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 08-31-2004, 08:44 PM
  4. New iMac -- all screen, no box
    By Jeff in forum Computers
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 08-31-2004, 08:42 PM
  5. Internet images with iMac
    By SCI-Nurse in forum Computers
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 06-12-2004, 11:16 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •