Results 1 to 8 of 8

Thread: Wireless Problem

  1. #1
    Senior Member lynnifer's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2002
    Location
    Windsor ON Canada
    Posts
    19,320

    Wireless Problem

    I am running a D-link secured wireless network in my condo and have been for a couple of years. Starting last night, the wireless on our desktop in the living room stopped working .... it won't connect at all to a secured network. When we try an unsecured network, it will connect at 1 or 5mb but you can't access anything.

    My laptop is running fine. We have a 2nd desktop which we run the router off of, and it is functioning fine as well.

    We're stumped why the living room desktop won't work.

    We called the cable company and everything is functioning fine. David took a physical look at the wireless card inside and deemed it okay. Thinking it might be interference from someone's new Christmas gift (there are multiple units in my residence) we tried changing channels and still - no go.

    Any ideas?
    Roses are red. Tacos are enjoyable. Don't blame immigrants, because you're unemployable.

    T-11 Flaccid Paraplegic due to TM July 1985 @ age 12

  2. #2
    Suspended Andy's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2003
    Location
    Chicago IL
    Posts
    9,722
    It's......broken?





    I figure download the driver for it and reload, if that doesnt fix it, maybe replace the wireless card.

  3. #3
    I agree, it sounds like an issue with the card since everything else works. Check the drivers or try a new card.
    C2/3 quad since February 20, 1985.

  4. #4
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    May 2004
    Location
    Ottawa, Cdn.....eh
    Posts
    3,268
    Did you add any new electronics lately?

    Is the other computer also wireless?

  5. #5

    A couple more ideas

    Quote Originally Posted by lynnifer
    I am running a D-link secured wireless network in my condo and have been for a couple of years. Starting last night, the wireless on our desktop in the living room stopped working .... it won't connect at all to a secured network. When we try an unsecured network, it will connect at 1 or 5mb but you can't access anything.

    My laptop is running fine. We have a 2nd desktop which we run the router off of, and it is functioning fine as well.

    We're stumped why the living room desktop won't work.

    We called the cable company and everything is functioning fine. David took a physical look at the wireless card inside and deemed it okay. Thinking it might be interference from someone's new Christmas gift (there are multiple units in my residence) we tried changing channels and still - no go.

    Any ideas?
    You may have corrupted the key on your PC somehow. I would set your router to broadcast the SSID, start up your troublesome pc, delete the profile you have saved on the troublesome computer and re-establish the profile with the correct key. Save the profile and try to use it. If there is a no-go, make sure that you don't have MAC address turned on and if you do, make sure the MAC address is set up to allow your troublesome computer access. Make sure you turn off the Broadcast SSID when it is working again. I've had similar problems like this and it sometimes requires re-initializing the Router and setting it up from the beginning. I hope this helps. - Ron

  6. #6
    Senior Member lynnifer's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2002
    Location
    Windsor ON Canada
    Posts
    19,320
    I think we give up. David said it isn't the key thing .. he might try re-installing from the beginning but after he gets some sleep (he's on permanent midnights). We're probably going to buy a new wireless card today (and I'd like a tv tuner for the computer). I have to go to emerge for an appointment about my feet anyway (I haven't been out much since being off work).

    As far as new electronics, I did buy a new 40" Sony Bravia HDTV and a used (ebay) Motorola HD cable box to go with it that has DVR built-in ... but that shouldn't affect it as they're not connected together at all ... plugged into different outlets even.

    I've been trying to talk him into moving the computer set-up out of the living room and into the 2nd bedroom which he calls his 'dungeon' ... lol. This is more strength for my argument .. lol .. as there's direct cable access in the 2nd room and I'll need the quiet for my online course which starts in a couple of days.
    Last edited by lynnifer; 01-02-2008 at 07:05 AM.
    Roses are red. Tacos are enjoyable. Don't blame immigrants, because you're unemployable.

    T-11 Flaccid Paraplegic due to TM July 1985 @ age 12

  7. #7
    Senior Member wheelchairTITAN's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    Oakville, ON ... Just North of the 43rd Parallel, SocialistLand
    Posts
    2,043
    Did you try having the router re-find the "MAC address" for the computer (the internal address for the computer that the router finds)?

    If it (the router) lost the MAC address it won't work.

    William

    ... rolling since 1989
    ...

    BE NICE!It's free

    P.S. ~ I have "handicapabilities"

    TWITTER: @MacBerry

  8. #8
    Senior Member lynnifer's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2002
    Location
    Windsor ON Canada
    Posts
    19,320
    Sorry ... never mind ... found my answer. (Had wondered if N with work with wireless G routers)
    Last edited by lynnifer; 01-04-2008 at 02:51 PM.
    Roses are red. Tacos are enjoyable. Don't blame immigrants, because you're unemployable.

    T-11 Flaccid Paraplegic due to TM July 1985 @ age 12

Similar Threads

  1. Replies: 0
    Last Post: 07-24-2007, 01:31 AM
  2. Replies: 19
    Last Post: 01-28-2007, 10:13 PM
  3. Problem with Braun ramp on 2000 town and country
    By Quadzilla in forum Equipment
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 10-16-2005, 10:23 AM
  4. DigiChat Java problem on Macintosh
    By Jeff in forum Life
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 05-05-2003, 09:46 AM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •