Page 5 of 5 FirstFirst 12345
Results 41 to 50 of 50

Thread: Mac Stuff

  1. #41
    Senior Member Broknwing's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Location
    Central Florida
    Posts
    4,742
    Quote Originally Posted by Chaz19
    Is there a way to add a dictionary option to 'ctrl-click??
    If you use FireFox and have the Google bar, there's a dictionary search that you can get to with ctrl-click...Is that what you were looking for?
    'Chelle
    L-1 inc 11/24/03

    "My Give-a-Damn's Busted"......

  2. #42
    What is up with iChat? I cannot get on video chat with my friend Jeremy who has a Dell and this has been going on since Christmas. I rarely use iChat, but would like for it to work when I DO use it.
    "Dream as if you'll live forever, live as if you'll die today." ~ James Dean
    http://www.kristi-allen.com

  3. #43
    Senior Member Broknwing's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Location
    Central Florida
    Posts
    4,742
    i thought it was just mine!!!! i was gonna ask you to test mine out for me I was talking to a friend with a pc as well & it wasn't working...
    well, text was but no a/v...GRRRR idk...
    'Chelle
    L-1 inc 11/24/03

    "My Give-a-Damn's Busted"......

  4. #44
    Quote Originally Posted by Broknwing
    If you use FireFox and have the Google bar, there's a dictionary search that you can get to with ctrl-click...Is that what you were looking for?
    hmmm...that may be. These days I'm reading so many articles and books in PDF or .doc and I was wondering if there was a plug-in or something that could be added to the control click function so I could find the definitions of-so-many-words I don't know faster then cutting and pasting to the dashboard dictionary.

    I'll give your idea go. Thanks

  5. #45
    Senior Member Broknwing's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Location
    Central Florida
    Posts
    4,742
    you're welcome...no problem...hope it helps solve your dilemma... Honestly I didn't know it was there until you asked...I did the control click on my screen to see what options I got & there it was...I knew I had a bunch that I never used...I guess Google is good for a lot of things huh?
    'Chelle
    L-1 inc 11/24/03

    "My Give-a-Damn's Busted"......

  6. #46
    Quote Originally Posted by Broknwing
    i thought it was just mine!!!! i was gonna ask you to test mine out for me I was talking to a friend with a pc as well & it wasn't working...
    well, text was but no a/v...GRRRR idk...
    http://discussions.apple.com/thread....42325&#6042325

    Apparently we aren't the only one having the same problem. It looks like it has to deal with Leapord and those that don't have it.
    "Dream as if you'll live forever, live as if you'll die today." ~ James Dean
    http://www.kristi-allen.com

  7. #47
    Senior Member Zeus's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2002
    Location
    Sydney, Australia
    Posts
    3,432
    Quote Originally Posted by Kristi
    What is up with iChat? I cannot get on video chat with my friend Jeremy who has a Dell and this has been going on since Christmas. I rarely use iChat, but would like for it to work when I DO use it.
    If your friend has a Dell, then they're presumably using AIM to video-chat with you through iChat?

    iChat and AIM have always been flaky - sometimes they work, sometimes nothing. Leopard 10.5.2 (due any day now) should fix a BUNCH of bugs in Leopard, so iChat may work better then.

    If you want a PC to Mac video-conference, Skype is the most robust connection by far.

    Chris.
    Have you ever seen a human heart? It looks like a fist wrapped in blood! Larry in 'Closer', a play by Partick Marber

  8. #48
    Thanks Cspanos. I'll try that. You are correct in him using AIM for his video chat and we kept getting the same errors.
    "Dream as if you'll live forever, live as if you'll die today." ~ James Dean
    http://www.kristi-allen.com

  9. #49
    I am strongly considering purchasing Apple's Time Capsule. This product will wirelessly sync with my iMac and back up the entire drive, including both operating systems. I was thinking that if the hard drive suffers a mechanical crash in the iMac, it would take me hours along with days to completely restore everything. $300 for the 500GB model should suffice. This device will probably work with Apple TV, so I am in a way purchasing for the future. My only concern is that the price may drop precipitiously.

    The test of success is not what you do when you are on top. Success is how high you bounce when you hit the bottom
    --General George Patton

    Complex problems need to be solved collectively.
    ––Paul Nussbaum
    usc87.blogspot.com

  10. #50
    That thing is nice but a little pricey, any NAS unit will work, the computer has the software to make easy backups, the newest OSX anyways, LeCei 500GB NAS is $185 1TB $220.

    I do like apple stuff better if I have the money but in this case idt it matters that much.
    Last edited by dgrotz; 03-11-2008 at 06:00 PM.
    Dave
    C5/C6 complete
    http://www.davegrotzinger.com
    http://www.daves-webdesign.com

    "I knew all the rules but the rules did not know me guaranteed..." - Eddie Vedder

Similar Threads

  1. Replies: 1
    Last Post: 03-08-2003, 03:07 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •