Thread: My T3-injured father in China

My T3-injured father in China

Dear everyone,

I am a student coming to the States this September from Shanghai of China. My father, who is now 61-years old, was suddenly paralyzed last October, and was diagnosed as SCI T3 caused by Spontaneous Spine Hemorrhage. Although my mom and I put him into the best local rehab in Shanghai soon after his surgery, the staffs there were just too inexperienced to offer a good rehabilitation program.

I am so happy to have found this community this morning – thanks Dr. Young, all the moderators, and everyone for sharing your information and in-depth advice. – Many of them are of great use to me.

I have two questions on my father:

1. What shall he use to keep him dry? My father has been suffering from Urinary Incontinence ever since he sustained SCI. He used a temporary indwelling catheter for 3 months and then switched to padding. He also tried external condom cath but it doesn’t seem to fit him well. The weather is getting cold in China and it is really inconvenient to change pads all the time.

2. Could you recommend some good rehab institutes around Stanford which I can visit and talk with some staff/patient there? I am curious to know the difference between the SCI rehab program here and what my father is doing in China. (I may have some difficulty in understanding the rehabilitation ‘terms’ but I will bring a dictionaryJ)

Thanks very much to all, and have a great thanksgiving!

Steve

Welcome to CareCure! We are glad that you found us.

Your father should not be using an indwelling catheter, nor an external condom catheter (ECC), nor padding (diapers). He should be doing self intermittent catheterization where he passes a catheter through his urethra every 4-6 hours during the day to drain his bladder. This will also require the use of anticholenergic medications such as oxybutinin to keep his bladder pressure low and also to prevent leakage between catheterizations.