Thread: SCI Nurse, Dr.Young, Bladder Cancer Screening Questions

SCI Nurse, Dr.Young, Bladder Cancer Screening Questions

After reading KLD's last response in the "SP tube surgery" thread I have some serious concerns. As I have mentioned in several threads I get all my medical care from the VA, and I am just now discovering that I haven't been getting all the reccomened screenings for bladder cancer. I will be 12 years post injury on the 27th of this month, and I have been using foley catheters for at least 10 1/2 years. I have had urodynamics once(before SP 9+ years ago)), and I haven't had any cystoscopy exams since my injury. I only have urinalysis and cultures done during my annual exams at which time I'm sure they are also doing the cytology, but that is only once a year, not the 3 times a year on the cytology KLD stated in the other thread. I also get the KUB xray and renal and bladder ultrasound annually. I have not been seen by a GU doctor since the SP post-op recovery peroid. I need your guidence on what to do now??? I want to make sure I am getting all the bladder cancer screenings, but I don't want to sound as if I'm accusing my doctor of giving me substandard care, I like her, unlike my doctor at the VA SCI center I went to before we moved down here.

Linda H.

The cytology test is not 3X a year. It is 3 separate specimens (ideally on 3 separate days) during your annual evaluation. The urine must be fresh, taken from the catheter (not the bag) and must be immediately mixed with cytology preservative (usually blue) solution, and the test run within 4 hours.

The brand new edition (May 2, 2005) of the VHA Handbook 1176.1, Spinal Cord Injury and Disorders Systems of Care Procedures states on page 18: