Results 1 to 7 of 7

Thread: Transferring software

  1. #1
    Senior Member GoTWHeeLs's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2006
    Location
    Oklahoma City
    Posts
    1,788

    Transferring software

    I want to install my photoshop and illustrater on my new comp. How do I get it from one comp to the other? USB? CD? DVD?
    Say what you mean and mean what you say because those who mind dont matter and those who matter dont mind.

    My Myspace



  2. #2
    Senior Member mr_coffee's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Location
    San Francisco, CA
    Posts
    6,030
    How did you install illustrator/photoshop on your old computer? I'm guessing with cd's right?
    If they are on cd's just jack them into the cd drive and follow the instructions.


    Unless you downloaded them, if thats the case, you can either burn the program on a cd if it fits, or a dvd, or if you have a big usb, you could transfer the files on there.

    You need the installer though, you can;'t just copy the C:/ProgramFiles/Adobe
    Injured:10-16-04
    C7/C8, T1 incomplete;


    For stalkers convenience:
    Blog:
    http://www.ordealsonwheels.com/
    Facebook:
    http://www.facebook.com/#!/coryssanchez
    Progress:
    http://photobucket.com/albums/b290/swooty/
    My drawings:
    http://kanvases.com/sites/corysanchez/home

  3. #3
    The Photoshop CD is what you want to use to install, but I'm not sure if there will be a compatibility issue with Vista.
    The test of success is not what you do when you are on top. Success is how high you bounce when you hit the bottom
    --General George Patton

    Complex problems need to be solved collectively.
    ––Paul Nussbaum
    usc87.blogspot.com

  4. #4
    there's a program they sell at RadioShack called pclinq2 cost $40 and it wasn't really worth it...you could try connecting usb to usb or a firewire.

    or

    if you have a wireless hub for your Internet you can just transfer through your home network...

  5. #5
    Senior Member GoTWHeeLs's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2006
    Location
    Oklahoma City
    Posts
    1,788
    Quote Originally Posted by McLovin
    if you have a wireless hub for your Internet you can just transfer through your home network...
    Hmmm, hub meaning router? How is this done?
    Say what you mean and mean what you say because those who mind dont matter and those who matter dont mind.

    My Myspace



  6. #6
    Quote Originally Posted by GoTWHeeLs
    Hmmm, hub meaning router? How is this done?
    I've emailed myself with certain programs/documents from laptop to laptop.





    Life isn't like a bowl of cherries or peaches. It's more like a jar of jalapenos--What you do today might burn your ass tomorrow.

    If you ain't laughing, you ain't living, baby. Carlos Mencia

  7. #7
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    May 2004
    Location
    Ottawa, Cdn.....eh
    Posts
    3,268
    Quote Originally Posted by GoTWHeeLs
    Hmmm, hub meaning router? How is this done?
    You get the 2 computers plug into the router, setup the network, and transfer.

Similar Threads

  1. Cyberlink
    By Cris in forum Computers
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 06-24-2003, 04:39 AM
  2. Replies: 0
    Last Post: 01-23-2002, 11:30 AM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •