Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Need Advice on Manual Wheelchairs

Need Advice on Manual Wheelchairs

Ello. I'm an incomplete quad. I can use my arms and wrists, but my fingers don't work for the most part. I also have no trunk control. I'm currently using a powerchair. However, I'm looking to switch to a manual for more reasons then I can count, but I'm new to this so I don't really know what I'm doing. Are there other quads out there using manuals? If so, what are you using? Do you have to have adaptive equipment to manuaver yourself? Any and all advice from anyone would be much apperciated. Thanks!
    "I reject your reality and substitute my own." -Adam/Mythbusters

oh yea...lots of quads are exclusive to manuals chairs...

the most important thing is to try as many chairs as you can before you buy.

Id stick with tilite or colours...just my .02
    C5-6 - 22 years

Hey,

Tilite zra, its a pretty penny, but its so worth it.

colours razorblade.
    Bike-on.com rep
    John@bike-on.com
    c4/5 inc funtioning c6. 28 yrs post.
    sponsored handcycle racer

read away: http://sci.rutgers.edu/forum/showthread.php?t=82653

I use a Top End Crossfire. Similar to a Ti ZR but less costly & aluminum. Lots of chairs have similarities, but look for simplicity in whatever you consider. Don't get sold on extra stuff that you think you "might need." Ask us first. Most DMEs & even therapists will try to sell you on things that they never use, so take their advice with a grain of salt.

Listen to SCI_OTR if he pipes up - he's currently the resident chair expert/nerd here & knows his stuff.

If you can, checkout Pushblack handrims, they are VERY stickey and easy to push and turn with your palm. My .02

In addition to the ZRa, the Quickie GTi Titanium is a fully adjustable cantilevered rigid frame which has some promise. It appears Quickie has corrected some of the design flaws found on it's aluminum counterpart, the Quickie GT.