Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Will I be successful with KAFO's?

Will I be successful with KAFO's?

This might be an odd question but I am going to ask anyway. I am a 26 year old T12 incomplete para going on five years. I have recently started trying to use KAFO's however, I still have very severe spasticity even with medication. What are the odds that I will be able to use the KAFO's for decent intervals of time? Also, how would you advise me to handle a parent that believes that the KAFO's are going to be the cure all regardless of the spasticity? I know that if things don't work out and I am not able to use them for the duration of time that they think is acceptable, I will be told that I didn't try hard enough. Trust me, that is the last thing that I need to hear. Obviously, I wan't to be able to walk. Honestly how stupid do I look? Thanks so much for answers or advice.

Becky

Hi,

I have limited knowledge of KAFO's. Do yo have a PT or therapiast that you are working with? Here is a thread that discussed these and other similar options. Perhaps someone using them can give their opinion.

http://sci.rutgers.edu/forum/showthread.php?t=61983

Regardless, any orthotic device requires that it work for the individual person and be compatible with their physical and motivational state.
    I hope that you are doing this for you and that some of the outside pressure is taken off you.

Keep us posted.

AAD

bc, my son has used kafo's since a year post injury. He has improved in walking, stance and gained (or awakened) some motor skills/control. In truth, they so seem to be limiting him now for the past year or more, meaning a lesser, lighter brace could offer him more natural mobility and an easier time doing so.