Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Do you need to defrag your mac?

Do you need to defrag your mac?

I have been using Macs since 1983. Through the first 20 years of using Mac, I have used various programs to defragment the hard discs on Macs that I have owned. I did it with various versions of Norton Utilities, a program called Speed Disk. It was very satisfying doing defragmentation, knowing that I have a hard disc where all the files were no longer scattered in pieces all over the disc and packed solid at one end of the disc. Starting several years ago, all the programs for defragmenting the Mac seemed to have disappeared off the market.

I forgot all about defragging until I started to use Parallels to run Windows XP on my powerbook. Windows XP seems to want to defrag every time it booted up. Unfortunately, unlike speed disk or other program, it takes a lot of time without showing you what it is doing. I often wondered how much it did and how much it helped. More important, I began to wonder about defragmentation on OSX. Here is what Apple has to say about the matter.

http://docs.info.apple.com/article.html?artnum=25668
    Do I need to optimize?

You probably won't need to optimize at all if you use Mac OS X. Here's why:

* Hard disk capacity is generally much greater now than a few years ago. With more free space available, the file system doesn't need to fill up every "nook and cranny." Mac OS Extended formatting (HFS Plus) avoids reusing space from deleted files as much as possible, to avoid prematurely filling small areas of recently-freed space.

* Mac OS X 10.2 and later includes delayed allocation for Mac OS X Extended-formatted volumes. This allows a number of small allocations to be combined into a single large allocation in one area of the disk.