Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: ramble ramble ramble...but I love them so.

ramble ramble ramble...but I love them so.

I wrote this to my teacher; I'm not so sure why, but she makes me feel like she gives a shit and would appreciate what I'd have to say, so I said it.

As you know, I'm wheel chair bound; but as natural as it seems for me to want to gush about the importance of stem cell research, I don't. Besides, I have no personal experience with stem cells, just that it's nothing but a glimmer of hope for me to walk. I'm not depending on that, and I never have. I pretend (or maybe I'm not) that there is no such hope for me in that a theraputic treatment will help heal me. Although I do support stem cell research, and not just for my own benefit, I just don't feel it's something I have any true experience with. The only experience with it is what I've just told you. So I just keep my body in shape and do everything I can as if that possibility was never considered.

I'm able to use my hands pretty well and I'm independent, but there are others out there who can't wash their face, scratch their nose, or even breathe on their own. I can't imagine how devastating it is to have that glimmer be so untangible and unattainable and have that be the only thing that would get them a step closer to physical and social normalcy. Even though I couldn't use my hands at first, I'm very lucky that I can now; but even being a little closer to their position at the early stages of my paralysis, I can't speak for them just how it feels to them to know that there is a glimmer, and that maybe that's all it will ever be for them or anyone else paralyzed.