Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Am I Overly-Sensitive to this Article?

Am I Overly-Sensitive to this Article?

I graduated high school with the woman in the linked article. Perhaps my bias against her (she helped break up a couple who had been married for almost 30 years and also were the parents of one of my best friends, but whatever) is making me overreact, but a few statements she made irritated me.

Article: http://www.madisondailyleader.com/si...d=181987&rfi=6

"I feel like Dr. Alvine saved my life by putting me on that antibiotic," Sanford said. "I could have been paralyzed."
    Does that mean that paralysis equals death?
    "It's a loss of independence," she said. "At 29, you should be working on your career and making a life for yourself, and that's all gone. It's been real hard."
    You can't make a life for yourself and/or work on a career if your paralyzed?

I'm glad she isn't actually paralyzed, but is this how the vast majority of the able bodies think?

Hey Honcho;

LOL, yep, there are some whoppers of ignorant disability "Doh!" quotes that make your friend sound like Paris Hilton with a hangnail. But, I would give her the benefit of the doubt and blame the writer first and foremost.

This paragraph is about as bad as it gets:

Sanford said one of her doctors explained that she was out of the woods, but in a meadow, and she will always be in a meadow because there's a chance the infection can come back at any time.
    "...out of the woods, but in a meadow." Suddenly, meadows are scary places. I can't get the image out of my mind of a huge meadow filled with my friends who are in wheelchairs.

John
    "Hope is like a road in the country; there was never a road, but when many people walk on it, the road comes into existence." Lin Yutang