Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Decisions/cross roads

Decisions/cross roads

I don't post many times on here, but I'm at a crossroad in my life that no one really understands. I'm hoping someone that has to deal with life in a wheelchair here can help me in my decision. I'm a para that has been in a chair for a little over 10years now. I have been working for about 9 years. I live alone and family is about 1 and half hours away. I do deal with pain in my back, some days are worse then others. I take Oxy for the pain when it starts to bother me. The job I have now is in a cube where I handle parts request from dealers nation wide. My hours are 10am to 7pm.
    The crossroad I'm at right now is that I have another Job offer from another Automotive company. This job will require me to travel 70% of the time. I will have to stay in hotels 3-4 days at a time. Might have to take flights across the country. The problem I have is my bowel program. I have to be able to reach around and dig the sh** out some times. That is the hard part that no one really understands. I have a commode that I use to do the reach around, but hotels don't have them. I'm thinking of buying one to take with me if I do take this job. I'm just nervous about this part. I'm not to excited about flying either because of being in a wheelchair. The new job will be better pay and ALOT better benfits. I just don't know if I should quit this easy job and jump into a new job that might cause more stress. Who has travel here and what do you do about your bowel program? Any advise would help and how to handle the traveling thing would be great also.

Thanks for you time. Dan

one word... : colostomy

I know hotels can be a pain when traveling. I think I'd do it though. I'd love to travel and if work was paying me then I'd do it. Wonder if they'd help get you some type of travel bench you could take with you?
    If you can't handle me at my worst, then you sure as hell don't deserve me at my best.