Page 1 of 12 1234567891011 ... LastLast

Thread: What can you do about a cure now?

What can you do about a cure now?

Quote Originally Posted by Eric.S
    well doctor then for me hope must be gone because from the looks of things my life will remain unchanged by either the charlatans or the beauarcy.

You speak a lot about the MS community compared to the SCI. Does this suggest some sort of flaw or innate bad attitude in the sci community? If this does exist what is your opinion why?

Eric,

I am afraid that we are hijacking the topic and so put my answer in this topic.

Wise.

-----

Eric,

I have been doing spinal cord injury research for 30 years. The first half of my career was spent on developing treatments for acute spinal cord injury and the last half has been on regenerating the spinal cord. When I first started in the field, doctors and scientists were very pessimistic. Most of my time and effort was spent trying to convince them that something can work. The second half has been different. The 1990's was the decade of the spinal cord. Scientists became convinced that the spinal cord can regenerate. Doctors are not yet convinced but most of them are not in touch with the latest research in the area. However, people in the spinal cord injury community heard about the therapies, particularly stem cell therapies.