Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Working2Walk 2007?

Working2Walk 2007?

Just booked rooms at Washington Plaza and I'm really looking forward to this year's W2W Symposium/Rally. I am just wondering--what are we advocating for this year? Last year we made a push for CRPA and to a certain extent, the SCREA of 2005 HR 810.

I'm a newbie with all this political stuff, but I don't even see CRPA on the table this year. Why hasn't it been introduced in 110th Congress? Where are we with SCREA of 2007, HR 3?
    Daniel

Sigh. LOL, election years suck. Everything is so undecided in DC!

CRPA IS back on the table, with another name. It was introduced by Gus Bilirakis, the son of the Representative who introduced it in the House last time. (He won his father's seat.)

BUT.

He introduced it with a LONGGGG name, same text, and no co-sponsors. I'm not sure this will be what is on the table when we get there. It may be introduced again with bipartisan cosponsors. I don't really know how all this works so I don't know the procedure or all the reasons. It is to the point where I roll my eyes and say "Ugh. Washington."

Anyway, I think we will be rallying for the CRPA. Under what name, who knows?

And I can only guess what the status of SCREA will be by then. My guess-it will be deadlocked because they can't overturn a Presidential veto in the House. I predict it will stay that way until we get a President that sees the light on that issue. I don't see a hope of overturning the veto.

Unless Faye gets her way and Bush is impeached. I'm not holding my breath on that one.

I'm no political analyst, as you know. These are the developments as I see them, and that's all.

Quote Originally Posted by betheny