Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: catheter & meds ?

catheter & meds ?

I had been using a silicone catheter for over 10 years but the urologist at Craig in Colorado recommended a much softer latex catheter during my annual urology workup. I have used a suprapubic catheter for 25 years now. My family doc prescribes my meds but I travel to Craig annually for a urology workup.

The tip of the catheter pokes the wall of my bladder because the bladder is very small, and he said the much softer tip of the latex catheter would lessen the irritation.

After about 3 weeks of using this latex catheter I started to void. (first time in over 20 years) Since I cannot feel myself void I thought at first the tube was leaking so I just changed it. After a week I started to void or leak again.

I was told that this is normal for some patients so I should go back to the stiff silicone catheters. Problem is, I really LIKED this catheter! The irritation from this tube poking the wall of my bladder affects my penis. (the turtle syndrome and a very sensitive tip) For the first time in 10 yrs or so my penis acted normally and the tip wasn't so sensitive to the touch.

Is there a solution other than going back to the hard tipped catheter? Would upping my ditropan stop the leaking? I said I could not feel myself void but I can feel my bladder "cramp". I can feel some small pain there when a catheter is not draining well which feels like a cramp.

I take 5mg of valium twice daily and 5mg of ditripan twice daily.

C4-C5 incomplete 25+ years post injury

Thanks in advance
    Rick

Let me contact KLD for this question. Hopefully she will get back to you soon. PLG