Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Any Suggestions for Abdominal Exercise

Any Suggestions for Abdominal Exercise

Hi,

Heard about this website through some friends and wow, this is fantastic! I'm new to the SCI world and this site seems like such an awesome place to get information.
    Since my accident, almost 7 months ago, I've gained some inches in the waist area. Was wondering if anybody out there had some suggestions on what to do for ab exercises?
    I'm a C6-7 incomplete level injury, in a manual chair with fairly good hand strength. Any suggestions is much appreciated.

Thanks-
    Andy
    Andy_W

Hold or strap any size weight thst fit "you" and do Isumretics(sp?) Think about your musle you want toned and do it enery day aor at least three times a day.
    make a thread here on your progress and you will have responses that are like a "workout" partner.

If you can manage to get on your hands and knees, you can do what my personal trainer calls "cats n dogs". You start from a neutral position on your hands and knees, trying to look straight ahead. Let your belly just drop, making it look like youre sticking your ass up in the air. You should feel a stretch in your abs (depending on how incomplete you are). Hold it for like a five second count and then concentrate and try to arch your back using as much abs as possible to achieve this. The visual you should have is while still looking straight, try and keep an arched back with your abs as flexed as possible, and now your ass should not be up in the air, but tucked under your waist as if you were thrusting forward with your pelvis. Depending on how much abs you got, you can use your arms to help just enough to complete the motion. I do this for a while and it burns my abs up everytime.
    No one ever became unsuccessful by helping others out

Tufel, that's one of the exercises we did in Lamaze class (pregnant).

It's a yoga thing....we did a lot of yoga in that class.