Page 1 of 5 12345 LastLast

Thread: Study of the effects of "chronic scar" on axonal growth in spinal cord injury

Study of the effects of "chronic scar" on axonal growth in spinal cord injury

One of the most frequently asked questions on this site is what should be done (if anything) about the "scar" at the injury site. I have always answered that the "scar" at the injury site is different from what we would normally consider a scar on the skin or other tissues, that it is not a fibrous scar but one that is composed of mostly astrocytes or glial cells. Some scientists call this a "glial scar" but I objected to such terminology because, as a former surgeon, I think of scar as being produced by fibroblasts and involve collagen. In any case, this very interesting study from the Tuszynski laboratory suggests that glial scars do not produce inpenetrable barriers to axonal growth. They transplanted bone marrow stromal cells in the cervical spinal cord of rats and then examined axonal growth through the "scar". Despite extensive astrocytosis around the lesgion site with dense deposition of the inhibitory extracellular matrix molecule NG2 (a form of chondroitin-6-sulfate-proteoglycan), they found that axons grew through the lesion site, particularly when they stimulated the growth with NT-3 (which by the way is something that lithium seems to stimulate the production of in umbilical cord blood). They authors conclude that the "chronic scar" does not create inpenetrable barriers to axonal growth.