Thread: Floor work

Floor work

Sorry if I have this in the wrong place, I'm new to this site.

I am an Animal Massage Therapist. I visit people's homes to work on their animals. I'm trying to find a practical way to get up off the floor into my wheelchair. (I use a Quickie rigid chair, and the footrest prohibits me from pulling myself straight into the chair.)

Does anyone do floor exercises, etc. And how do you get up into your chair?

PS upper body strength isn't an issue for me

You can do a search for "floor to chair" and lot's of people even have posted videos. I am an AB, but I know that you can get one of those fixed foot rests that releases on one side so you can flip it up so it is out of the way.

Quote Originally Posted by ChopperChick
    You can do a search for "floor to chair" and lot's of people even have posted videos. I am an AB, but I know that you can get one of those fixed foot rests that releases on one side so you can flip it up so it is out of the way.
    I don't know about rigid wheelchairs with the flip footrest, but I agree with the first part--there are transfer videos on this site. Check out :

http://sci.rutgers.edu/forum/showthread.php?t=50721
    Daniel

Just wondering... how is your client base? I'm assuming that you have To limit yourself only homes that are wheelchair accessible. It sounds like an interesting career!
    Disclaimer: I use voice dictation software, due to chronic tendinitis. Any gibberish-type errors in this post are due to the software's stupidity, not my own. Protect your arms and hands from overuse, people!

Blog Entries
    The ONLY way I can get back into my chair from the floor is the same way I get down. I put an object on my left with space for my body between it and the chair to lower myself to the ground and back up. I put my left hand on it, remove my splash/wheel guards, fold my armrest away and position myself to the edge of the cushion. Lower myself off the side.