Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: What's the arrangement? Care and your Sig Other

What's the arrangement? Care and your Sig Other

Hi everybody. This came up as a tangent in a different thread but I thought I'd get more answers here. What's the arrangement between SCI folk and significant others as far a care goes? Do they do the majority of care required (dress, undress, bathe, catheter, bowel programs, etc) or are many of you utilizing home help personnel for part time care?

I'm fairly new to SCI (post-injury relationship) and am just curious how most people are handling this.

Thanks for humoring me.

We are a bit unusual

Our situation has changed over the years. When I first met Chad, he was highly independent (as much as he could be given no movement/sensation below nipple line). His parents came every weekend, and Chad employed a 24/7 attendant who lived with him M-F who took care of him, did all cooking and cleaning, drove him to work, drove to work to feed him, etc, etc.

Then I came along.

I started doing Chad's nighttime care because well.... having his PCA come in at 11 pm put a cramp in our love life - I could never wear cute lingerie because I'd just have to hop up and put on a robe, and god help me if I forgot to wake myself up before he came in .... or if we ummmmmm, lost track of time. We had a few close calls, so I started doing his nighttime cathing, BP, etc. At some point around this time, my son (age 3 at the time) and I moved in with him.