Page 1 of 5 12345 LastLast

Thread: New C2 SCI in Jackson MS

New C2 SCI in Jackson MS

Hi everyone, this is my first time on this site. I am writing as I sit in our sons room here at the Shepherd Spine Center in Atlanta. Our son was in a car accident on Feb. 17, 2006. He is 19. He was living in NC at the time of the accident. He was in The Carolina Medical center in the ICU for 2 weeks, then was sent here to the Shepherd Center in Atlanta. When he leaves here, he will come back to MS to live with us. He broke his neck at C2 and is on a vent. They say he is incomplete so that gives us some hope that he will come off the vent, and maybe get some movement back. He does have some feeling and reflex, but no movement from th neck down. They are going to start doing the diaphramatic pacers here at the Shepherd Center some time in May. They put him on the list, so hopefully he will qualifiy and be a candidate. We are scared to death right now about caring for him in our home, but we are doing ok and getting more and more comfortable everyday with his care. He will be released from Shepherd on the 24th of April. From here he will go to the Methodist Rehab hospital in Jackson. The vent company wants us to train on their equipment in a hospital setting. They say he will be there about 4 days and then come home. Is there anyone in the Jackson area on this forum that is a SCI? We would love to hear from you and love to pick your brain for any and all information you can give us. We live in Ridgeland. Thank you in advance for any information that any of you can give us.

Welcome to the club that no one wants to belong to!

You are fortunate to be at Shepherd Center. Be sure you learn everything they have to teach you while you are there. We have other members here who have high injuries and are home on vents, so hopefully they will see your message and provide some personal information. Otherwise, ask any questions and we will try to help.

(KLD)