Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: condom cath to intermittent cath help

condom cath to intermittent cath help

i recently started an intermittent cath program. i have been using condom caths almost solely for the last 3+ years. i have the IC with the hydrophilic coating which is supposed to be the smoothest, slickest process causing the least irritation.

so here's my problem...after i cath and the time goes by and it's about time to cath again, when i open my pants there is a little dark red "stuff" around/in the hole to the urethra. sometimes it is dry, other times it is wet. and if i squeeze my penis around the shaft i can get a little more wet stuff appearing at the hole. it is very dark red, almost black. is it blood, or some sort of mucous? why is this happening? is this normal? the catheter is 14 fr so it's standard size, and i don't usually have to push with much force, so i don't know what is up.

please help, thank you.

It sounds like it could be irritation and what not, but I'm not sure. SCI-Nurse could probably anwser better, or go see your urologist.

i saw a lil' blood today that was red and darker on my clothes, probably dried. it was not there this afternoon, so i assume it was a lil irritaion from last night's "lights out" cath attempt
    Don't cry because it is over, smile because it happened

it sounds like irritation to me...

it could be stationed in because your urethra is not used to having a catheter shoved down it, I remember having a little bit of bleeding early on. It would be just like you described, crusty around the opening and almost black. Sometimes I would see a little bit of bright red blood in the catheter. If it continues or gets worse, I would make a change and/or talk to my urologist.

also...