Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Being the crip in class

Being the crip in class

I know a lot of us on this forum are in college. Say what you will about 'we are no different', but it can be pretty frickin wierd to be the kid in the wheelchair. I've been a student at this place for a couple years, so most of the kids in my major are pretty at-ease with me, but there are still those who have that, I don't know, atmosphere. Plus I am a math tutor in my school's math lab. At first there were people who wouldn't ask for my help, but the ones who did seemed to be put at ease very quickly. After a while I guess enough people started to get comfortable around the kid in the chair and I don't feel too out of place anymore. At least not as often.

A few of us, including the engineering program director took a field trip yesterday to Raytheon. We carpooled and I was a driver. It was pretty cool because when there are just a few guys shooting the shit there is less pressure and all those questions that people have can get asked and answered. They always seem to boil down to driving and sex.

Then when we get to Raytheon, and we find out they aren't entirely accessible, and a couple of these guys who a year ago barely made eye contact with me, are hoisting me up a flight of stairs, and talking shit about dropping me, in a wierd way, I truly felt included. And that felt good.

I am very interested in hearing about other's experiences in college or school.