Page 1 of 4 1234 LastLast

Thread: Manual chairs for dummies.

Manual chairs for dummies.

I just got approved to recieve funding for a brand spankin new lightweight manual chair, and I'm super excited, but worried at the same time about the choices I'll be making in the weeks ahead.

Reasonably fresh in my injury, I know little or nothing about manual chair specifics, much less brand specifications. Unfortunately, the same guy/company will be doing my evaluation for my manual chair that did the evaluation for the power chair I never wanted.

He and I get along well, but he's pretty young and fresh to the 'scene'. I know some of you are die hard fans of one brand or another- but what I'm looking for are mistakes you made early in the game... or questions you didn't know to ask until it was too late... that might help me- or others making their first manual chair purchase.

Thanks in advance.
    Feisty
    An administrator made me remove my signature.

Hi Feisty, I am pretty new at this myself and had may of the same concerns as you when choosing a chair. What I did was order one of the most adjustable chairs I could find, a Ti Lite ZRA. I don't know much about the other brands but I am very pleased with this chair. I figure after I ride around in this one and play around with the adjustments I will find what I like and don't like in a chair which should make my next purchase eaiser and more informed. Good luck and I hope you end up with a chair that you are happy with.
    -Bake

my first choice was a disaster.... Now I am using a Colours Spazz.. Very happy with it.. For me, rather than the brand, the adjustments are important ( as long as the chair is light and small)

ok, my question is why was your first chair a disaster?

I don't want this to turn into a label war as to which brand is better than the other, there are tons of other threads for that that I can look up.

What questions do you wish you woulda asked before you made your chair choice?