Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Keep your hands from contracting...

Keep your hands from contracting...

Hello,
    To keep your hands from contracting, I recommend the following. What I do is buy soccer goalie gloves and this helps tremendously from having my hands contract. You have to be careful, when buying the soccer gloves. Otherwise you'll will have sores from the gloves. But once I've found gloves, my mom cuts out the elastic around the wrist. And then there ready to wear... I've been wearing soccer gloves for 10 years and my hands haven't contracted. I can recommend some gloves if anyone is interested (I have no financial interest).
    Thanks,
    Brian
    Last edited by MagikLair; 04-03-2006 at 07:39 PM. Reason: didn't make sense

I would recommend instead that you get resting hand splints that keep your hand in a funcitonal position. Letting your hands get contracted in an extended position is just as bad as letting them get contracted in a flexed position if you ever get any return, as both will lead to a non-functional hand. A good OT can fit you or better yet, make you, custom hand splints that are appropriate for this.

(KLD)

tried them and moved on..

I tried the hand splints and they caused sores. I've tried two different types of splints and came back to the soccer gloves. The gloves do not keep the hands in the extended position (Not my experiences anyhow). They allow the hands to bend the gloves in a normal position. I've had good results with these gloves over the splints.
    Brian

Hey, Lair! My splints are custom made for me. My doctor ordered them for me.

The orthotist makes a mold of your hand/wrist/arm in the proper open position using a casting material and cuts it off the cast. They pour a resin into the mold and have your splint. Using velcro straps in strategic points, your hand, wrist and arm are held into place.

My occupational therapist made me rough ones before I had the last splints made.