Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Stair Lifts vs. Wheelchair Lift

Stair Lifts vs. Wheelchair Lift

We are looking at putting in a wheelchair lift (i.e. telecab) or a stair lift so I can access the lower floor. I am a t-7 para and can transfer no problem.

What do people have at their homes and what are the pro's and cons? We are leaning towards the stair lift due to cost and the least home modifications. I would use two wheelchairs. The stairway is straight up (17 steps) no curves. However I am concerned about the chair being in the way of AB people wanting to use the stairway. It would be great if they could wrap around to be out of the way without the cost of purchasing a unit that fits curved stair ways. I am also concerned about carrying items between floors.

I am interested in any information anyone may have to offer on either type of lift. I have no experience with either.

Thank
    Linda

Stairglides

Although initially my husband built a ramp off the deck at the back of the house, it was not always convienent in bad weather. Plus it's always wise to have more than one exit. We had 2 used stairglides installed for me to gain access to the basement/garage level of our ranch home. Instead of straight down like yours, our stairs have a platform and 3 stairs at a right angle near the bottom. I leave a wheelchair either at the top (indoor chair) or bottom (outdoor chair) depending on which way I'm going and transfer 3 times each way. It's not really a problem. Both the seat and foot plate on the chairs fold up so they are somewhat out of the way for any ab using the stairs. The whole thing takes up about a third of the width of the stairs. It was the best and most economical solution for us as an elevator would have required major construction. However, if and when we move to new home with more than one level, I'd invest in an elevator.
    Hope this helps.
    Lois