Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Baclofen HELP Please

Baclofen HELP Please

hi, I'd greatly appreciate it if anyone could tell me if they've ever heard of the possibiliuty that baclofen could increase tightness rather than alleviate it??

Thanks!
    Last edited by denny4104; 02-06-2006 at 04:47 AM.

Hi Denny

I m having baclofen pump implanted. N its reducing my spasticity.

Hi,
    I did not find any detoriation or improvement while taking baclofen. Just keep applying ice (covered in cloth) throughout your legs and belly for over 15-20 minutes greatly reduces the spasm.

Baclofen had no effect on me at all as far as I am concerned...only used it for the last 2 years and a couple of months ago I finished weaning off and I don't feel any difference except that now I can focus and see the print and read a book (so it was definitely effecting me).

I'm not a doctor but my suggestion would be to try valium...I've been on it since 1982 and really it is the only pill/med I have found that releases that tightness. I have never had any addiction issues with it...I've taken 5mg at night and also used them for breakthrough occasionally (like long car rides). One nice side effect is that I almost always have a great nights sleep....can't beat that.

dgbharathi....you really use ice packs like that to reduce spasms? I don't know if it's my central pain or what but ice packs anywhere below the waist would kick up my spasms like crazy....I'll file that suggestion away though for possible use one day when I am poorer than I am now and see what it does.

T

Quote Originally Posted by denny4104
    hi, I'd greatly appreciate it if anyone could tell me if they've ever heard of the possibiliuty that baclofen could increase tightness rather than alleviate it??

Thanks!