Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: Hi everyone, brand new here

Hi everyone, brand new here

Hello,

My name is Eric (you probobly guessed that already). I was a private pilot who was working toward my ATP (airline transport pilot) license when I was injured. In July of last year I was helping a friend trim some tree's in his yard and fell off a ladder and burst my S1-2 and my life changed.

I am adjusting very slowly. With a very active lifestyle before this, and such a huge change, I am having a bit of difficulty. Now, some things before I continue,

1) I know it could be worse, I know my low level injury is a blessing.

2) I am not looking for sympathy, or pity. just looking for friends.

I did not have insurance at the time so state assistance is covering my medical coverage, thus, the time in rehab was shortened.

I am aware that my low level injury is rare but if there are any of you out there that are S Level or low L level injury, I would love to hear from you.

God Bless

Eric

Welcome to the forums, Eric.

I'm new here also, but have found them to be extremely informative and friendly (as long as you avoid the politics board.....)

The way you started your post, I was thinking "cool - another airplane crash survivor"... Ah well

There have been several recent posts in the exercise forum on hand cycles, and here in Portland I've been slowing finding information about wheelchair basketball and tennis, and I know of several groups going snow skiing. Where I'm going with this is that even if you are in a wheelchair, it doesn't mean you have to stop being active. (I have no idea how such a low injury effects your movement. I'm just posting to be encouraging)

Anyways, welcome, and good luck.

--JB

Welcome Eric from Ariz.

to the "I fell off an Extension Ladder Club!!!.

I my L#1 on May 20, 2004 while trimming limbs with my chainsaw!

Enjoy this webiste, loads of information, support and friendly ppls.