Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: rain, snow and wheelchairs

rain, snow and wheelchairs

Hi...this is my first time posting. My son was injured in a MVA back in January. He is a college student who uses his wheelchair on campus to get around. Since this is our first winter, I am hoping that some of you can give me some helpful hints on how to get around in the rain and snow. We have been lucky here that there hasn't been much rain so we haven't had to deal with that situation too often. My son is T5 incomplete. Do they make some type of umbrella that attaches to the wheelchair? Thanks for any info. Shelly

Quote Originally Posted by shelnj18
    Hi...this is my first time posting. My son was injured in a MVA back in January. He is a college student who uses his wheelchair on campus to get around. Since this is our first winter, I am hoping that some of you can give me some helpful hints on how to get around in the rain and snow. We have been lucky here that there hasn't been much rain so we haven't had to deal with that situation too often. My son is T5 incomplete. Do they make some type of umbrella that attaches to the wheelchair? Thanks for any info. Shelly
    no easy way. in the rain, he will get wet. in snow get decent knobby tires, thats about it.
    Bike-on.com rep
    John@bike-on.com
    c4/5 inc funtioning c6. 28 yrs post.
    sponsored handcycle racer

I have wraped a telephone cord around the tire but at the level a welder could make a home made snow chain with a release. I hd fun sliding in ice in a chair also

I am sorry about your son. I know what you and your family are going through... Not even a year injured and he's back at school speaks well of him and your family. Not to mention bodes well for his future.

To your question: Assuming you want him to have fun/friends/sex etc. - Don't attach an umbrella to his chair! Nothing could look dorkier!