Thread: Do all paras eventually move to a power chair?

Do all paras eventually move to a power chair?

I've been pushing myself around in a manual chair for 24 years and surprise, surprise, my shoulders are starting to ache. Is there any way to prevent shoulder problems short of getting a power chair?

Does Medicare even pay for a power chair as a preventative? I doubt it. I'm guessing my shoulders will need to get really bad before they would approve it?

Unfortunately, many people with paraplegia find that as they get older they may need a power chair. This may be due to damage to shoulders over the years, or due to development of new medical problems associated with aging such as cardiac or pulmonary problems or regular arthritis.

We are now doing more teaching of people with SCI about how to protect their shoulders and other vulnerable joints from the first day of rehab. We hope that in the long run this will prevent many of these problems. Even if you already have problems, starting a program of joint preservation and exercise (under the direction of an experienced SCI OT or PT) may help to reduce your shoulder pain and limitations caused by this.

Medicare may approve your power chair if justification is based largely on your inability to do ADLs/self care and get around your home. The are less concerned about pain or community mobility. Although we know the latter two are very important, slanting the justfication letter to the former will help a lot. It would help to have this letter written together by your SCI physician and SCI PT or OT.

(KLD)

Thanks. I happen to have an appointment with my doctor on Thursday so I will talk to her about PT.

Power Chair

I had a preexisting shoulder problem, thus my hospital rehab OT wrote a letter of medical need to my insurance company. I got the power chair. I was nearing Medicare age and wanted go through my insurance company rather than hassel with Medicare.

Check out these wheels that offer power assist.