Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: testosterone injections?

Hybrid View

Previous Post Previous Post   Next Post Next Post

testosterone injections?

my dr. wants to start giving me testosterone injections to increase stength and muscle mass. i'm c5-6 incomplete/4yrs post and i've been using the walker exclusively for the last three months...i've increased my exercise regime and strength training over the last year with amazing results. i havn't had any experience with steroids. any advice? precautions? thanks.
    da

does anyone have any experience with steroid use for strength training...or any expertise in this field? i'm concerned about overall health and productivity...should this even be considered for someone w/sci? any input will be greatly appreciated...is this question in the right place?
    thanks,
    da

dusty, I don't know very much about the effects of androgens on muscle in people with spinal cord injury other than to reiterate the importance of doing it with somebody who really know what they are doing. Many of the steroids that athletes take are not good for the heart and other parts of the body. They do not ban it just because it is unfair but because it has serious side-effects.

Some people with spinal cord injury do have low testosterone levels. I just did a literature search on the subject and you may be interested in an abstract that I just posted, reporting the effects of giving testosterone to rats after spinal cord injury and the effect on muscle.

Wise.

I take testosterone for a back injury