Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: Can yoga treat paralysis?

Can yoga treat paralysis?

Please, could somebody tell me if yoga brings some results in paralysis, especially complete injury?
    I have a complete injury and I know that a wiil never be able to go, but a yoghin to tell me that he can make me to go.Can I hope it?

Monica,

I am no expert on the effects of yoga on spinal cord injury. However, if yoga can reverse paralysis, I think that we would have heard about it by now. On the other hand, yoga may have some beneficial effects of spinal cord injury. First, yoga focusses on aspects of your body that we normally do not think about, i.e. breathing, relaxation, sphincter relaxation, etc. Second, yoga is supposed to have effects on the autonomic system and may be useful for autonomic dysreflexia, etc. It may also be useful for reducing spasticity. Third, it has been shown to have effects of cerebral states. I did a search of the medical literature and found an old paper that mentions some of the possible effects of yoga...

Wise.

1. Lerner M (1975). "[Recent medical research on yoga and states of concentration]." Acta Psiquiatr Psicol Am Lat 21(1): 56-63. Contact: