Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: looks like stenosis neuropathic pain

looks like stenosis neuropathic pain

finding out with a PT that some of my shocks and burning in my foot which is neuropathic is from my lumbar ares where i had the surgery

Hi, I am new here, but you mentioned surgery for stenosis, which I had (twice,) in the past year.

I was wondering if you would share your experience with me as I am new to this and to this site?

Thank you,
    AP

i haven't had any stenosis surgery , my surgeries were decompression of disc L4 to S1 and from previous activities and lumbar instability i have stenosis.
    i spoke to the neurosurgeon that did my last surgery about a fusion to stabilize my spine and correct the stenosis problems but he thinks the risk outweigh the benefits at this time. i have my bladder back , i spent over 2 years catheterizing and my bowels are much better, so to lose that stuff is always a risk. he say he cannot fix the neuropathic pain in my foot with surgery , only pain that travels down the leg.

Oh, I see. I had severe stenosis between C-5 and C-6, which was aggravated by a fall I took which pushed a vertabre into the cord a bit... I had a donor bone inserted... I had no choice with the surgery as the stenosis was severe and I had "no play," around the cord, there was a question as to whether I had permanate cord damage as well.

I was sorry to hear you had the catheter problem! At the time of my surgery, I was loosing some of that ability and I was loosing feeling in my legs for many years. I had no strength left in my fingers, the ones connected to the area that was severe.

I also have mild stenosis in C-3 to C-4, with a bulging disc, this was increased due to the fact that the metal used in my fusion failed and did damage above and below it. I had a second surgery to take the metal out about 8 months later...