Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Seating solution for long flights

Seating solution for long flights

I know this topic has been recently discussed on at least two threads but none of the posts provided me with a suitable solution, so I'm raising the issue again.

I'm going on a long plane flight (9 hours) this summer and I need to find a seating solution. I have never used a cushion before on plane flights, but this time I must. My high-profile ROHO is TOO high for an airplane or car seat, as is my old standby Jay Active. I don't want to shell out $300 for a cushion I'll probably use just a few times a year. I haven't had problems with pressure sores, but I do start sweating at about the 3-hour mark of every flight. I'd like to find something that meets the following requirements:

1. Provides pressure relief.
    2. Does not make me sit too "tall" in the seat.
    3. Is less than $175.

I checked out the ROHO Pack-It but I fear it will have the same problem as my other Roho: over-inflating during flight. Does anyone have experience with this cushion on an airplane?

I am also considering creating my own cushion out of 3-inch eggcrate, with a sheep-skin top. Since it will be used only on flights such as these, I figure it could give me the relief I need without the added height. Do the nurses have any thoughts on this? (I'm C 5/6 complete, 13 years post, by the way.) Thanks in advance for your responses.

I think your creation should work well. When I play rugby I use a foam cushion and havent had problems, even after sitting in my rugby chair for 4 hours. And it's hard to weightshift in the rugby chair because I'm strapped down.

I sit on my regular cushion on planes though, and its gt to be at least 3 inches tall.

"It is not easy to find happiness in ourselves, and it is not possible
    to find it elsewhere."
    --Agnes Repplier, writer and historian

cushion for long flight