Thread: hunting from a vehicle

hunting from a vehicle

i know its leagal for a d/a to hunt from vehicle with a permit but doesnt a truck scare away all the critters? i want to take my bus because its high up, all windows, and roomy as hell but it sounds like a sherman tank on crack! its kinda stinky too. also my rifle is a mosin nagant m44 7.62x54R, is that leagal and practical to hunt with? it's a friggin cannon! i'm new at this hunting thing obviously.

please note my new email address: Cspine_ae@msn.com
    Attached Images Attached Images  

Cspine,
    On private land in Texas anybody can hunt game animals and non-migratory game birds from a vehicle. No special permit required, just a hunting license. The only requirement for a hunting rifle used hunting deer in the state of Texas is that it be a center-fire cartridge. Too big? What does that mean? I've killed big game animals with a 243 Win and a 300 Win Mag. Dead is dead. The key is shot placement. As for your bus scaring animals, that depends on how they've been treated in the past. I once hunted on a large ranch where deer would see a vehicle half a mile away and take off running, yet if you were walking you could walk right up on them. They had obviously been harassed from vehicles. My wife and I drove up on 19 mule deer today at approximately 50 yards away, and they just looked at us.
    Good luck.

thanx for the info pc! i should have added that i'd be hunting in washington or oregon as i'm probably moving back to that area soon. the rednecks here are driving me nuts!

please note my new email address: Cspine_ae@msn.com