Page 1 of 6 123456 LastLast

Thread: Quad food prep., cooking and product tips

Quad food prep., cooking and product tips

I posted a list of things that make cooking and food prep. easier for me in another thread but decided to make it a topic. If anyone has other ideas, including easy recipes (I'm a one pot cook) please post them here.

I don't have tenodesis which means that I'm unable to grip with one hand so my strategies/struggles may not apply to every quad.

Ideas for quad cooks:

Storage: Storing food in zip lock baggies is much easier than using tupperwear. Those lids are a pain to get off.

Buy pre-prepared veggies: The better supermarkets should have a decent selection of precut fresh raw veggies like brocolli, onions, cauliflower, green pepper, carrots etc., usually in wrapped packages in the produce section. Using graters, dicers and slicers like cuisinart can still be a hassle for those with limited hand use.

Meats: Most markets will also have pre-seasoned raw meats, that are already diced, shredded or wrapped. Eliminates the need for a lot of cutting and slicing. Poultry, fish and meatballs for example can be bought already breaded and or cooked.

Fruits: Peeling is simply out of the question for most quads so I buy ready to eat fruit. Supermarkets will also have "fresh fruit salads" already prepared if you want it super fresh. I usually buy fruit in glass jars, seems a little fresher than what's in the cans and plastic cups.

Since spreads can be difficult to manage, I would suggest buying butter or margarine in the squeeze containers. Same applies to ketchup, mustard, mayonaise and jelly.

I like Cuisinart cookware because it's lightweight and has that hole in the handle which I use to hook my thumb through for lifting. The lids, which have handles instead of knobs make lifting them off possible too. Cast iron and calphalon are too heavy and cumbersome, there's no easy way to grip them.