Thread: high blood presure

high blood presure

hello all, im only new to the internet world of sci. in 1996 i had c5,6,7 fused with my spinal cord getting damaged because the disc's rubed on it. i dont get very good medical care, imho, if i knew more about it though i could get my doctor to refer me. My question is do you think my high blood pressure could be caused by spasticity? has anyone heard of this. ive looked alot on google, cant find no mention. is there a test for amount of spazieness. my legs and arms hurt all the time and i walk like im drunk. thanks for being here

Do you have true essential hypertension, or are you having autonomic dysreflexia? Did you go to a SCI center for rehabilitation? Were you taught about AD?

Spasticity in and of itself would not cause essential hypertension, but people with SCI are at risk (as is most of our general population). Are you being treated for your spasticity? How and with what? Do you have a good SCI physiatrist?

(KLD)

Thank you very very much for responding. You asking me these questions helps me alot.

I dont know what type of high blood presure I have. I was given hydrochlorothiazide 12mg/day. I dont take it regularly because is makes me very nauseated. From what Iv'e read about hydrochlorothiazide, it reduces the sodium level. I haven't picked up a salt shaker in 10 years, I eat lots of fresh fruits and vegtables most every day, with the ocasional junk food binges, so I was questioning (to myself) if this was the right course of action to take. My next Dr. appt. is 7/26, I will bring up essential hypertension and autonomic dysreflexia with my Dr. then. Maybe there will be some test. I only knew of too much sodium or having blockage in kidneys or ateries.