Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: SSI and how it works...

SSI and how it works...

I now live with my mom and I'm a student. I have a job interview tomorrow morning; as some of you might know by reading my previous post. I now receive SSI, not much but how would a job affect my SSI. This is a job at a music store, nothing big. I would like a part-time job now because 1) I am able and ready to be out there and earn my money like everyone else, 2) I am tired of being home and want to have more interaction, 3) I need more job experience and skills to build my resume which is the main reason why I want to work part-time.
    I know I have to report to Social Security if I get a job but how much will they take off from my SSI. Anyone know?
    If my SSI is taken away complete and if I make less money than my SSI by working then it is not worth working and going to school at the same time. I just rather not work and focus 100% on school and keep receiving my SSI. BUT, if I make just about less than my SSI and if it's not affected then it would be great because then I can save money for my car with the money coming in from the job.

Anyone have any suggestions? Thanks.

•--------------------------------------------------------------•
    T5 Incomplete (06/02/03)- Walking with no assistance.

Let's see if I remember this correctly~
    Every months income before taxes has to be submitted. They take this total and deduct $85 from that. Then they deduct 1/2 subtracting that from your SSI amount. This will be what you receive from them.
    In other words: example at $579.00 a month SSI
    lets say....432.00 income one month
    minus the....85.00 not counted
    leaving.....347.00 income counted
    half of that173.50
    deducted from your $579.00
    gives you..$405.50 SSI check
    I believe this is the correct procedure.
    To me it meant my son was making about $3 or so an hour after all But he was