Page 1 of 6 123456 LastLast

Thread: Want help, don't know what to do

Want help, don't know what to do

I'm SCI, living by myself. I haven't been told I have OCD, but I think I might have it. I get obsessed with things and then neglect the things I should do. For example, my kitchen sink if full of dirty dishes, I have two laundry baskets full of dirty laundry, my table is piled with stuff and I have to push the stuff aside or stack it up to put my dinner plate down. I can't seem to ever pay my bills on time, and I often get fined for paying late. My place is not unsanitary, but it bothers me a that I can't seem to get these basic things done. It's stressful for me, and it's embarrassing when a friend, relative, or neighbor stops by.

My current obsession/addiction is an online computer game. I've been playing it for about 3 months now and I could easily play it all day long. I'm getting really sick of the game, but I feel like I have to keep playing.

There's always one thing that I'm addicted to. It could be shopping, an art project, a puzzle... None of these addictions have really been harmful (compared to being addicted to drugs or something), but I'm tired of living this way and I don't know what to do about it.

I was wondering if anyone here has experienced and overcome something like this. Also, I know there are people here with background in pyschology. Can you help me?

I'm writing this as fast as I can so that I can get back to the computer game, which I don't even want to play it. I should do some cleaning, but I feel that I must first play the game. I'll tell myself that I'll only play for 30 minutes, and then 2 hours later, I'll still be playing.

P.S. I'm already on a fairly high dose of Prozac. I'm much worse without it (turning light switches on and off a certain number of times, etc.)