Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Level of Injury Question

Level of Injury Question

I have been doing more and more research trying to find out exactly what happened when I was injured and what level I am. I have been saying for 2 years that I was a C5 incomplete. I asked Dr Donovan last week on my visit and he was rather vague on the complete or incomplete part. As it turns out, I am a C3 sensory, C5 motor at present. I found a letter from 2 years ago which describes my injury as follows:

"Injuries included a burst fracture of C5, fracture of C6 vertebral body, retropulsion of C5, minimally displaced left laminar fracture at C5 and a left laminar fracture at C6. "

What does the above mean in laymans terms and is it rather typical for my level of injury? Also, any clue as to why my sensory is at C3?

I have the exact same question and just when i logged on to post it, i read this post and decided to include here so:

Dr Young, SCI-Nurse or anyone else that might know. Please explain the following to me. When i was injured in MVA on the 26/10/96, i was only told that i was an incomplete paraplegic and today, almost five years later, my orthopedic surgeon informed me that: "you had an aorto rupture with a spinal infarct at T10 level". He also mentioned that, although i made partial recovery, i still have loss of muscle power in the L5, S1 & S2 groups. Please explain what this all means and what are my chances of a full recovery? Thank you in advance.

Originally posted by Carl R:

I have been doing more and more research trying to find out exactly what happened when I was injured and what level I am. I have been saying for 2 years that I was a C5 incomplete. I asked Dr Donovan last week on my visit and he was rather vague on the complete or incomplete part. As it turns out, I am a C3 sensory, C5 motor at present. I found a letter from 2 years ago which describes my injury as follows: