Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Work vs Social Security Disability

Work vs Social Security Disability

I'm talking to my office about going back to work (I'm an accountant). However, I wonder if I should apply for SS Disability instead. I worry about my bowel and bladder care at work and also being too tired to work (after reading another thread on this site). Initially I will only work a few hours a day (until I no longer have to wear the TLSO) so the amount of my pay will be minimal (I work for a nonprofit and my pay was low when working full time); much lower than disability would be. I would appreciate opinions on:

- I had a T-12 burst but function like an L3 Asia C (I can walk with a walker for a few hundred feet). Would I qualify for SS Disability - my MD has cleared me to return to work? In other words, do I even have a choice about work vs disability?

- How tired are others with my level of injury who work full time?

Thanks.

T12 Incomplete - Walking with Walker, Oct 2003

Originally posted by MikeC:

I'm talking to my office about going back to work (I'm an accountant). However, I wonder if I should apply for SS Disability instead. I worry about my bowel and bladder care at work and also being too tired to work (after reading another thread on this site). Initially I will only work a few hours a day (until I no longer have to wear the TLSO) so the amount of my pay will be minimal (I work for a nonprofit and my pay was low when working full time); much lower than disability would be. I would appreciate opinions on:

- I had a T-12 burst but function like an L3 Asia C (I can walk with a walker for a few hundred feet). Would I qualify for SS Disability - my MD has cleared me to return to work? In other words, do I even have a choice about work vs disability?

- How tired are others with my level of injury who work full time?

Thanks.

T12 Incomplete - Walking with Walker, Oct 2003
    if your able to work and your doc cleared u to do so you should work