Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: Camber or no camber, that is the chair question

Camber or no camber, that is the chair question

Doing yet more planning for a new chair, and have room in my doorways to add a bit of camber to my chair. The chair I have now has 0° camber, so I have no experience with a chair that has it. My question is...do I really want it and why? If my experience with cars is any indication, negative camber just helps with tread contact in corners, but wrecks havoc on straight line tracking, so I am missing why I see so many chairs with camber, and copious amounts of it as well? I dont want the thing to go any direction but straight, am I missing something here?

You get better side to side stability with camber, also with camber there will be less wheel contacting the ground making the chair roll easier. I'm going with 2 degree's on my ZRA. I have 0 & 3 on my A-4.

MUCH EASIER PUSH, AND LOWERS YOUR CG, TRACKS STRAIGHT MUCDH BETTER QAS WELL, I RUN BOUT 4-5 DEGREES, LOOKS COOL TOO

I personally prefer no camber because its a pain to get through doors. I didnt notice that much of a difference with camber, except that it just looks better.

Even if your body cannot move, you can still think and meditate ~Dalai Lama~

What I did was measure the doorways in my house, and go with as much camber as I could without making the chair wider than the doorways. I have 4° I think, or maybe it's 6°. It makes the chair easier to turn and manouver.

Some chairs have an optional adjustable camber tube. It's not something you can adjust on the fly, and I think it adds a bit of weight.
    _____
    Learn from the mistakes of others, you won't live long enough to make all of them yourself.